Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Travel By Magnet-Falcon Buddies

Falcon Buddies
Travel By Magnet
Travel By Magnet, is the first EP by experimental, progressive quartet Falcon Buddies, consisting of Dieter Geisler on keyboard/guitar/vocals, Morris Ramos on guitar, Ian Eskander on bass and Victor Tizoc Trevino on drums. The album is truly a multi-instrumental art pop electronic explosion of psychedelic fuzzed-out garage rock which could easily be a blender frappe of Guided By Voices, Flaming Lips and Yeasayer.
"Bedsheets," begins with melodic piano and quickly escalates with serrated guitar riffs, swaggering bass, and light cymbal tapping. Geisler's vocals on this particular track draw similarities to Interpol's lead singer Paul Banks singing style but transforms through the progression of the EP. "Skaldabeast," is a dreamy triumph of schizophrenic vision which evolves from mere chanting to a psychedelic precision of Geisler bellowing, "I don't want to be afraid of this anymore, I don't want to be afraid of this anymore. I don't want to be afraaaaid." The last track entitled "To Red is Vain," is an 80% instrumental track which features what seems to be a whole band inclusion of vocals in "Ohhh ohhh ohhhhh ohhh" reiterated mid song. The track is suggestive of Yeasayer's 2080.
The album art is interesting and a bit difficult to understand. A close up of what seems to be cotton or synthetic stuffing graces the cover atop a bubble wrap and shipping manila envelope---a hook like object protrudes from the cotton/stuffing. The inside flap features a close up of red, yellow and blue wires held together by a little plastic clip. A great album to listen to while trying to gain inspiration for an unconventional painting or drawing.